Some important things that will be one everyone’s mind shortly!


It is Oct. 6th already!

It’s Thanksgiving Weekend here in Canada.

All of you I’m sure know what that means………No, it doesn’t mean we will go on diets and it does not mean we will start thinking about Halloween!

Halloween is already on every young child’s mind.

But once Thanksgiving is over,  you will see signs of Christmas popping up all over the place.  It has already started in some stores, but the majority of them are waiting for this weekend to be done and then all holds on everything are let loose.

Prepare to be inundated with the likes of shiny balls, lights, candles, artificial trees with all the fixings by the end of next week!

For Grandmothers, Grandfathers, Godmothers and Godfathers, aunts and uncles, friends and family and everyone else who falls into the “family” categories, it is a good time to think about the little ones in your lives and the presents that will be given.

Just recently I got the greatest note from one of my kids!  It did not come too early, and definitily not too late!  Let me share it with you:

Everyone is getting this note as I have been asked in the past, so for simplicity here it is… I know its early, but I have just spend the better part of the week cleaning up the girls playroom and it got me thinking about the onset of more toys at Christmas…arggghhhhhh. As you start your Christmas shopping I have a couple requests…PLEASE no stuffed animals. Granddaughter #1 LOVES them all too much and can’t fathom giving any up. Her bed can look like an episode of hoarders on a bad day. She will also “adopt” any given to her siblings. No paints or markers for Granddaughter #2….enough said. 🙂

The less pieces the better on toys…over 160 pieces” as a selling point on the box is enough to make me walk away from it…guess who picks it up? When I get tired of picking it up, the vacuum does it for me! ha I do have some ideas for all 3 of them, so let me know if you want some direction.  Some of the items are bigger ticket , like a smart trike for Grandson #1 (in this family).  Pool your resources..quality over quantity!!  GD#1 is starting to learn to read, so any books that are designed for early readers (they are usually marked with level 1 or something like that) are great for her. Daddy and I are probably going to get the girls a dollhouse as their “santa” gift. I haven’t looked into it yet but some accessories for such a house are an option as well. Clothing…. GD#1 is in a size 6/6X generally, she is measuring 45 inches currently GD#2 is just starting into 4T, measuring 40 inches By Christmas GS#1 will be close to 9-12, spring I would expect 12-18, next fall/winter I would bank on 2T. He is 25 inches right now so he is doing about 1.5 inches a month. One tip, our children tend to be tall, that happens when Mom and Dad are 6 feet tall and more, so please look for clothing that caters to length more so than the width.

Let me know if you want some ideas for any of them…

Now for me as one of the grandparents, I found this to be an awesome way to make known what some of us forgot when our kids were the little ones.  Especially the part about the 160 pieces.  Thanks for the reminder!

For all parents and grandparents out there,  remember that talking to your kids and grandchildren is a way to get some insights into what they would enjoy receiving from you.

It is never too early to start making lists and then when you are blinded by all the sights and sounds of the season, you won’t make bad choices for them.

I would love to hear what you do with your family and extended families over the holidays, so please let me know and maybe you will be featured on another blog.

GrammieKnows signing off for now!

Some children looking at a selection of Christ...

Some children looking at a selection of Christmas Cards during the 1910 holiday season. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

About Grammie O

I am new to affiliate marketing and would like to make the site www.grammieknows.com much more user friendly and interactive. I'm hoping that Word Press will be the answer I'm looking for. I like to think that my grandchildren will have the best opportunities to learn and have fun that are available through the internet and would like to make those opportunities available to all children of all ages.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Grandparents, Toys, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

