Week 2 and counting!


Why is it that the minute Labor Day has past, our bodies automatically want to sleep in?  All summer we have been getting up at the crack of dawn and using the time to our advantage.  There was time to do all the things we wanted and then still a little time left to sit back and enjoy the fruits of our hard work.

Fast forward two weeks and it seems like we are in a hurry to get things done during daylight hours.  If that’s not bad enough, the evenings get darker quicker and cooler too!  No time to sit back and enjoy whatever we have done through the day.  It’s time to go inside, bring a log or two in and sit by a fireplace.  Just going into the family room without your fuzzy slippers on, sends chills up and down my back!   It’s not fair!  I want the warmth and long days of summer again, yet they just slipped away a few short days ago.

Oh well, I guess that’s part of living where I do.  My body has not quite got used to the idea of Fall and Winter.  Just saying the words seems wrong somehow!  I will not mention any white, fluffy, powdery stuff either! 

My guess is that I will have to get ready start putting more clothes on, warmer socks and shoes, sweaters, and as time goes by getting out the heavy duty equipment required to face Winter.

It is all in the mindset I think!  I will be prepared to face Fall with a grin on my face, extra clothes on my back and I am determined to make the most of it.

Don’t get me wrong, I will still look forward and hope that we have a long fall and a short winter.  While I love the seasons, as an avid gardener, spring and summer are my absolute favorite times of year.  I tend to be a messy gardener, so don’t really care for the cleaning up part! 

I leave my sunflowers blooming as long as I can, the birds, squirrels and raccoons really appreciate the seeds, and I appreciate the animals as I watch them carefully gather and store for the cold months that are sure to come.

As a mother and grandmother, I enjoy being able to share all these wonderful times with my “kiddies”, the big ones and the little ones.  The little ones though are a delight.  Nothing seems to get them down as they excitedly tell me about their school and playing with new friends.

When they visit, they are thrilled with the birds and animals as Grammie points them out!  They sit quietly on the chair as the finches are feasting on  cosmos seeds and the squirrels are gathering sunflower seeds.  The Blue Jays with their noisy arrival, has Grammie looking into the trees in order to point them out to the kiddies.  Cardinals and the return of the chickadees are all noises that are music to my ears. 

The Butterfly Bush in the yard is a beacon for the Monarch Butterflies that are getting ready to head back south.  It is a wonder to watch them flitting about looking for that one flower that has an extra drop of nectar.  What is normally a purple bush, turns into purple with what looks like flames of orange coming from  the spiky flowers.  What a sight when there are hundreds of butterflies all in one place flitting around all the flowers. 

The leaves on the trees are taking on new shades of color as well.  What were bright green leaves in the summer are now getting the faintest edges of yellow and orange as well.  Autumn is definitely on it’s way.

So now I’m out and about looking for those subtle changes that are happening in nature, making notes on how much the squirrels are storing and trying to get some idea of what kind of winter we are in for.  They say that you can tell a lot about the upcoming season if you watch closely.  So I am watching closely, and making mental notes to point interesting things out to my grandchildren.. 

Let’s see what the next two weeks will bring us and what new discoveries we will make in that time.

Happy September, bring on the Fall, I’m ready (I think!).

 

 

 

About Grammie O

I am new to affiliate marketing and would like to make the site www.grammieknows.com much more user friendly and interactive. I'm hoping that Word Press will be the answer I'm looking for. I like to think that my grandchildren will have the best opportunities to learn and have fun that are available through the internet and would like to make those opportunities available to all children of all ages.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

