Parenting Advice | Grandparents | How to discipline| How to Parenting | Sympatico.ca Lifestyle


Parenting Advice | Grandparents | How to discipline| How to Parenting | Sympatico.ca Lifestyle.

An interesting article that is a great read right to the last paragraph.  We are lucky when we have grandparents around for our children to see the BIG picture.  While discipline is important, the extra love, hugs and encouragement that grandparents help to instil in their grandchildren is worth so much more than an argument about who has the right ideas in discipline.  I am a grammie now, but in my youth, I did not have any grandparents close by, no aunts and no uncles!

None of my friends ever understood how that happened, but one couple, friends of my family for years, stood in as the only relatives on this side of the Atlantic Ocean.  I remember well the times we would do school work that involved family dynamics and the envy I felt when all my friends had that extended family to count on.  GREEN was my color for many years.

When I married and started a family, my husband and I agreed that Grandparents were one of the most important relationships that our children could have.  When they could come out for special events, they did.  At every major event in their lives, their grandparents were there cheering them on!  For our family, (and it got to be a really big one) grandparents, aunts, uncles and cousins were always among the ones cheering!   I listen with delight when I hear my son tell me how his Opi (our term for granddad) showed him how to swing a hammer, organize a workshop or wire a switch.  We send pictures back and forth of our children, their children, their boyfriends and girlfriends and now my great nieces and great nephews and grandchildren.  Our family, that started out with the two of us,  has grown to a family of over 75.  We all try to keep in touch through Social Media and email.  Once or twice a year we try to get everyone together and it is truly a joy to see how they have grown up, married and are now having families of their own.  Our grandparents are gone and our parents, well some of them have gone too, but the memories we have and our children have cannot be taken away.  We are blessed indeed.

What is even more important, is that we are the grandparents now!  Being a special part of our grandchildren’s lives is a gift without compare. Thank goodness our children understand this from personal experience and encourage our participation with their children too!

 

Grammie Olivia

About Grammie O

I am new to affiliate marketing and would like to make the site www.grammieknows.com much more user friendly and interactive. I'm hoping that Word Press will be the answer I'm looking for. I like to think that my grandchildren will have the best opportunities to learn and have fun that are available through the internet and would like to make those opportunities available to all children of all ages.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

