I’m just enjoying a trip down memory lane!


The sun is shining today and just for fun my sweetling put on some music to enjoy!  Now that in and of itself is not an unusual occurence  But what was unusual was his choice of music to put on.   It brought back so many memories that I can’t seem to wipe the smile off my face. 

Okay, so you are probably wondering what he chose to play for me.  Well, Ann Murray’s There’s a Hippo in the bathtub, was the song of choice.  I am laughing to myself when I just think about this song.  While radio stations have their “Top 10” lists,  this mommy (at the time) had her own “top 10” playlist.  The Hippo song must have stayed on the top of this list for years…….Not only did we use this song for bath-time, but we would dance and sing during play time.  When we were doing quiet crafts or reading and the kids got bored with that activity, one or the other would jump up and start singing the Hippo song and everyone would stop what they were doing and join in. 

My neighbours would think our house was a little odd.  There was always music coming from within the walls and windows.  Sometimes it was even really good music, other times it was us, singing our hearts out.  But the kids and I always remember one of our dear neighbours who stopped in front of our place, listened to the music and as we watched , she danced her way home.  She would pass by in the spring and summer months, when the windows were wide open and comment, that this was the happiest house in the whole neighbourhood. That was a great compliment for me and my sweetling. 

All our kids still enjoy music and as they grew so did their musical tastes, but I have to think that all of this started because of the Hippo in the bathtub and now he’s going down the drain………oh no he’s gone! 

 We still have music playing in our house(most of the time) and hopefully that will never stop. 

 

About Grammie O

I am new to affiliate marketing and would like to make the site www.grammieknows.com much more user friendly and interactive. I'm hoping that Word Press will be the answer I'm looking for. I like to think that my grandchildren will have the best opportunities to learn and have fun that are available through the internet and would like to make those opportunities available to all children of all ages.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

